Subscribe to Syndicate

Welcome to the UPEIFA website

Betty Jeffery

Greetings from your 2016-2017 Executive Committee

The Faculty Association is the sole and exclusive bargaining agent for approximately 400 academic staff members at UPEI in two bargaining units, BU #1 (faculty members, librarians, sessional instructors and clinical nursing instructors) and BU #2 (clinical veterinary professionals).

The UPEIFA is a member of the Canadian Association of University Teachers (CAUT), the CAUT Defence Fund, and the National Union of the Canadian Association of University Teachers (NUCAUT).

We are also on  

    Get your latest issue
    Download Volume 12, No.3 today
    April 2017 (8 pages, 1.23 MB, PDF)


    ATTENTION: Sabbatical Application Date

    We wish to remind you of a change in the Collective Agreement that requires Sabbatical Applications to be submitted by August 1st.  Please see:

    Article C2.13
    Applications for sabbatical leave shall be sent to the Dean or to the University Librarian with a copy to the Department Chair and Coordinators of Interdisciplinary Programs, as appropriate, by August 1 of the year prior to the contract year for which the leave is planned. Applications should include an updated curriculum vitae and a detailed description of the project(s) to be pursued while on leave. Projects will normally fall into one (1) of two (2) categories, (or a combination thereof), those which advance scholarly endeavours and those which improve professional skills.

    UPEIFA Facebook 

    ~~ 2017-2018 Committee Membership  Stay tuned for updates ~~



    To book the Faculty Lounge in SDU Main Bldg:
    Please download and complete the FA Lounge Room Booking form and email to


    Wishing all our FA Members an Enjoyable Summer!


    Date: TBA 
    Time:  TBA
    Location:  SDU Main Bldg, Faculty Lounge

    FA TIMES: 

    Date: TBA 
    Time:  4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
    Location: SDU Main Bldg, Faculty Lounge


    Check out the Awards Committee pages for pictures of the Award Recipients from the FA Recognition Night 2017

    Hessian Teaching Award
    Scholarly Achievement Award